The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization or UNESCO, for its acronym in English, tries to promote world peace and security through cooperation between countries in the aforementioned areas.

Its reason for being is international cooperation and understanding between countries. Therefore, it is an entity that pursues a series of objectives that allow "to build peace in the minds of men and women", as reflected on its website.

Origin of UNESCO

UNESCO was born in the aftermath of the Second World War. A united nations conference was held in London to create an organization geared towards culture, science and education. 37 countries attended (including Mexico) and, thanks to the leadership of France and the United Kingdom, the project came to light with the aim of promoting world peace.

In 1946 a document came into force (signed at the conference) that served to create a Constitution to regulate it. It was ratified by 20 countries of the 37 gathered. In 1958 the organization's headquarters were inaugurated in Paris. The architects were Marcel Breuer (USA), Pier-Luigi Nervi (Italy) and Bernard Zehrfuss (France).

Aims or objectives of UNESCO

The organization, which has 195 member states and ten associate members, has a series of purposes and objectives that appear in its constitution document and of which we highlight the most relevant.

  • Educational objectives. Non-discrimination, equal treatment and universal access for all to education.
  • Goals in science. Free circulation of ideas and knowledge. To carry it out, it will recommend the necessary international agreements for cooperation, communication and exchange.
  • Cultural objectives. It will ensure the protection of knowledge. This cultural wealth includes books, works of art or, among others, monuments of artistic, historical or scientific interest. One of the best known actions are the so-called "World Heritage Sites".

Be a World Heritage Site

UNESCO can declare a certain place as a World Heritage Site or a World Heritage Site. This title is conferred by the Committee of the same name (with 21 States), which is elected by the General Assembly of Member States for a specified period of time.

The objective is to preserve certain areas of the world for their historical, architectural, artistic or scientific importance. You can even request funding for its conservation through the World Heritage Conservation Fund.

Some examples of World Heritage Sites

Let's see, to finish, some examples of this title so important for the countries that receive it and that are responsible for the protection of the chosen good:

  • Historical center of Oxaca and archaeological zone of Monte Albán. Cultural heritage of Mexico since 1987.
  • Glaciers. Argentina's natural heritage since 1981.
  • Antigua Guatemala. Cultural heritage of Guatemala since 1979.
  • The big Wall. China's cultural heritage since 1987.
  • Royal palaces of Abomey. Cultural heritage of Benin since 1985.
  • Djémita. Algerian cultural heritage since 1982.
  • Old city of Cáceres. Cultural heritage of Spain since 1986.
  • Mesel fossil site. Germany's natural heritage since 1995.

Tags:  banking derivatives cryptocurrencies 

Interesting Articles